I’m baaaaaaack

So took some time to focus on other things for quite awhile. Got caught up teaching part time for a few months, then that wrapped up in time for my summer job with camps. It’s been an eventful few months.

Being September, I’m not getting much supply work, but I’ve had a few days. Including an eventful day today. I supplied at one school for the Drama teacher last week for a morning and then again this week for a full day. I also helped out today and the grade 12 class, who met me on Monday, decided to serenade me with “Call Me Maybe” because, hey, they just met me. They’re a fun bunch.

I really liked teaching senior grades for elective classes because – especially with Drama – they want to be there. It makes a difference, especially when you’re constantly dealing with people currently making you out to be the bad guy at the moment when there’s a contract dispute. The government has basically taken away the rights of collective bargaining and the right to strike from teachers. I’m not big on strikes – I’ve been on the other side of them too often – but you can’t suddenly start taking away things that have been bargained for in the past. Add in that they’re bargaining through the media…it’s just bad all around and makes me very frustrated.

But – there’s nothing I can do at this point because I’m at the bottom of the totem pole again. I once again went through what I term to be “sham interviews” where the interviewers know exactly who they’re hiring, but they have to interview a minimum number of people. This time it was a total of 3 interviews for jobs that started in September. Two I lost to internal hires, typical, and the third I lost to someone with 20+ years experience. I’m not even 25 years old- I was screwed.

Such is life though – as it stands right now I’ve found enough to keep me occupied during the slow supply month and I’m debating writing a novel again. Since you can easily self-publish stuff as ebooks now it’s easier than it used to be.

We’ll see. But for now, I’m going to try to start blogging again to keep writing.

About Miss Substitute Teacher

Working as a substitute teacher. Kids really do say the darnedest things!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m baaaaaaack

  1. jaidedaniels says:

    Know exactly how you feel! So many job applications and zilch because were not ‘experienced’ enough. Hello? When will we get a chance to get some of this ‘experience’ you talk about??? Love your blog, so refreshing to hear from other substitute teachers. We have the exact same problem over here in Australia

Leave a Reply

