New year’s resolutions

I’m not really a big new year’s resolution person. I’ve tried making them in the past, but rarely do I follow through since I don’t always make specific ones. I find I’m better at following resolutions if I make them in the middle of the year. For example the typical “eat healthier.” This goes up and down for me. If I’m busy, I get lazy and just grab what’s easy. This was especially true when I lived on my own. The only year I really did well with eating more healthy was when I lived in Sweden since they don’t sell as much frozen food and such as North America does. However, I also drank more because there were lots of parties, so even though I walked everywhere (and I mean EVERYWHERE – I was too cheap to take the bus) I think I ended up gaining weight!

I joined a gym a few months ago – specifically for the classes. I got to zumba two nights a week and have made it a commitment for myself, even though it’s a drop in class. Unless something big comes up (Christmas party, etc) I don’t miss it. I treat it like I would a soccer practice. I’ve never really had a weight problem – at my heaviest I was almost 140lbs and I stand 5’5″ and all that weight was muscle from when I played high level competitive soccer and trained 3 nights a week with the team. As soon as the season was over I dropped about 20 pounds. I’m now in my early 20s and weight about the same as I did in high school. I never gained the freshmen 15, despite eating a lot of take-out/cafeteria food because I was super stressed out from my living situation. When I’m stressed, I end up physically ill. So having to set goals like “I will lose 15lbs” or whatever has never been a big deal to me. I consider myself incredibly lucky, as several of my closest friends have really struggled with their weight and in some cases serious health problems because of their weight.

I’ve never smoked, so I’ve never resolved to quit. I’ve never been a heavy drinker – except for that year in Europe, but I never drank alone – it was always at parties/with friends and I’ve never been blackout drunk. I’ve always been a decent student so I’ve never had to resolve to bump up my marks. I know it’s not worth it to stress myself out by saying my new year’s resolution is to get a full time job, since it’s kind of beyond my control. I apply to anything and everything I can and I prep for interviews,  volunteer, etc. but after that – it’s out of my hands.

I would never resolve to “get a boyfriend” because again, I don’t think that’s something I can control. You either meet someone, or you don’t. Put your best foot forward by all means, but it’s not something I’m going to jot down on my to-do list.

There are things I want to do, but those end up on my bucket list. For example, I really want to go to Egypt, India, Kenya and Peru. I also want to swim with the dolphins, go on a safari, see the Amazon, climb Machu Pichu, take a gondala ride through Venice and go skiing out west in Banff. Those things cost a lot of money though, so I know it’s not an achievable goal for my current financial situation.

Any time I’ve made a change in my life, such as dressing better and not wearing sweats out in public unless it’s to the gym, it’s been in the middle of the year and is a reaction to how I feel at that time. The dressing better was because I realized I was in my 20s and wearing t-shirts with slogans on them that were from first year university. Also, I made the mistake of wearing sweats to a class one day in Europe and got stares, plus I’ve watched a lot of What Not To Wear. Once you’re done university, you gotta class it up a bit and dress like an adult.

Do you make new year’s resolutions? Why or why not?

About Miss Substitute Teacher

Working as a substitute teacher. Kids really do say the darnedest things!
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

