Juggling Jobs

So I think I’ve mentioned before how I currently juggle a variety of jobs in order to make ends meet. My main focus is being a substitute teacher, as it will (hopefully) lead to a fully fledged teaching career in which I actually get to go to the same place every day. In any event, I currently work multiple jobs and one of them is an off-shoot of my summer job running summer programs for kids ages 6-12. Now, I am a supervisor for said program, but often the staff are high school aged. I’m also a very visible supervisor because I do a lot of extra stuff and I have some seniority.

Today I was at one of my usual schools I sub in. I was finishing up a note for the teacher and trying to get my stuff out of the classroom in time for the next teacher to come in. I wasn’t even facing the door and a gr.12 walks in. He immediately recognized me from my summer job. I had no idea who the hell he was because he works in another part of town.

Still, this is not the first time. I’ve been teaching a leadership course on weekends and have run into some of my students from that while subbing in schools.

The reason something like this is awkward is because these kids know my first name. Not a big deal in the grand scheme of things, but remember how exciting it was to know your teacher’s first name when you were a kid? Yeah. Add in that I need to have as much power as I can as a sub and sometimes things like keeping my first name secret make that easier. (Oddly when kids guess they never guess my actual name, which happens to be fairly common.)

About Miss Substitute Teacher

Working as a substitute teacher. Kids really do say the darnedest things!
This entry was posted in Joys Substitute Teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

