Painkillers

I’ve been very off-kilter lately with life, and a lot of it has to do with the fact that I’ve been unable to be particularly active and blow off steam because I’m pretty much out of commission due to injury. Basically, it sucks. A lot.

Anywho, I have an interesting way of taking painkillers. Sometimes, if I know I’m likely to be in a situation where I’m playing a competitive game, I won’t take the painkillers until after we’ve finished. Why? Because if I don’t feel pain, I’m more likely to try to hard and end up doing something stupid which prolongs my injury.

I have slowly been getting better, but I’m still unable to do a lot. I also tend to try and ignore any pain by woman-ing up about it. The irony here is I am really good with physical pain when I want to be and can grit my teeth and get ‘er done. However, trying to woman up to do something scary like ask a guy out? Not a chance my friends.

I have a theory about this as well. When you hurt yourself, you can take painkillers and ice the injury, etc. When you go and put your emotions out there and have the potential to have your heart broken, there’s no easy way to deal with the pain. It sucks. Sure, you can sit there and drown your sorrows in ice cream, but it doesn’t really work the same way painkillers do. At least in my opinion.

Funny the things one can handle that are more serious and possibly have very long term consequences, and yet something that is rather trivial in the long wrong is so hard to deal with.

About Miss Substitute Teacher

Working as a substitute teacher. Kids really do say the darnedest things!
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

