Texting

I admit – I too am guilty of too much texting. Lately it seems to stem from when I’m bored – such as when I’m on prep while subbing. I don’t actually have anything to prep for, so if I get sick of reading my book I pull out my phone and start texting my friends to see who might reply. I usually have a good idea of who will have their phone on them in the middle of the day and often get responses pretty quickly. However, one of the things that really bothers me about texting is how it has totally replaced actually calling someone. I hardly ever call up someone just to chat and catch up now. We’ll talk online or via text. A lot of us are super busy and have weird schedules, so face-to-face contact requires a week’s notice minimum sometimes.

What I really dislike about texting lately though is how impersonal it is and how it has become the go-to communication between myself and my current crush. We’ve used texting pretty consistently with each other for awhile now. The annoyance is compounded by the fact that he is notorious for turning off his phone and just forgetting about it entirely. However, in recent weeks I’ve noticed he’s quicker to reply now – as if he now carries it around with him more.

Trying to flirt via text SUCKS. Sarcasm and jokes don’t always read right because there’s no tone of voice, not to mention that if the other person doesn’t respond instantly you end up questioning what you just sent them. Also – it completely eliminates the old fashioned telephone call. The boy in question ended up not making it out last night to our usual group gathering because he had to study for exams instead. We did end up texting later though as I was actually getting close to leaving, through me leaving and the drive home, and continuing when I got home. It was probably a solid 30-45 minutes of random stupid texting. *facepalm*

The whole thing is all kinds of ridiculous anyway with the pair of us and something must be done – if only to solve this stupid texting problem.

About Miss Substitute Teacher

Working as a substitute teacher. Kids really do say the darnedest things!
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Texting

  1. I know exactly how you feel about flirt texting. I have been texting my crush back and forth, but it’s been a real challenge. He would text me “hi” and I would respond. But then I would be waiting for hours on end for a reply just to find out that he fell asleep, or was distracted by the basketball game. And it would continue like this for days…we can never have a normal conversation. I now realizr from your blog that if we would just call each other, we could maybe actually talk and start a relationship.

  2. Alan says:

    Love your “header”. Don’t know how I found myself to your blog but love the collage of doorway photos. I always wonder who’s behind them.

    Good point on texting. Flirting is an art and texting is fine but lacks the nuances.

Leave a Reply

