Put your damn phone away. Seriously.

This has become my new go-to line if I deem the class to be of appropriate levels of maturity/immaturity when it comes to dealing with cellphones in the classroom.

Conversation usually goes something like this.

Me: Put your phone away please.
Student: I don’t have my phone.
Me: Really? Cause you’re staring at your crotch pretty intently so I kind of hope it’s because you do have a phone down there.

Seriously – you’re in school. All your friends are in school. Your parents know you are in school. You do not need to be texting people. It can wait. Put you damn phone away in my classroom.

About Miss Substitute Teacher

Working as a substitute teacher. Kids really do say the darnedest things!
This entry was posted in Quotations, Up on My Soap Box and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Put your damn phone away. Seriously.

  1. James says:

    Hell yeah. I never understood why people always had to text in high school. I mean, there were a few times that I felt it imperative to sent someone a text during class, but definitely not often.

    • I don’t think my phone even had texting capabilites until I was in university in 2005/2006. I just don’t understand the need to text – all your friends are in class too. You’re in high school, it’s assumed you’re in class, so if you don’t reply people will know why.

  2. Ha! Love the “staring at your crotch” line. Stupid kids.

  3. dine319 says:

    Haha, I get that all the time when I’m subbing too. For some reason they seem to think they’re really clever (or we’re really stupid) when they try to hide it that way.

Leave a Reply

