Favourite Quotes from Students

All teachers have them. I’ve only been teaching a short time and already I have a few gems. Not to mention all the quotes I’ve gathered over the years from working with kids in general. A current trend I’m noticing with students is this obsession with asking me about my relationship status. I often wear a ring on my left ring finger – it doesn’t mean anything, it just happens to fit comfortably on that finger. However, apparently this is something kids look for. My favourites thus far have been in the form of…

This was from a gr.9 class
Female Student: Are you married?
Me: No.
Female Student: Engaged?
Me: No.
Female Student: Do you have a boyfriend?
Male Student: Of course she has a boyfriend! What kind of a question is that? He’s probably really hot too. All teachers have hot boyfriends. Right Miss?
Me: …

~

This was from a gr.6 class…
Student: Are you married? Engaged? Boyfriend? Dating? Single?
Me: Single.
Student: Oh. Well you should have a boyfriend cause you’re like…old.
Me: Well, I think my Prince Charming got lost and refuses to ask for directions.
Student: I don’t get it.
Me: You will when you’re older.

Ah, kids. So delightful!

About Miss Substitute Teacher

Working as a substitute teacher. Kids really do say the darnedest things!
This entry was posted in Quotations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Favourite Quotes from Students

  1. Team Oyeniyi says:

    Tell them you have one of each: husband, fiance and boyfriend! 🙂

  2. Your blog brought back an old memory:

    My first job out of college was as a traveling teacher, teaching a Stanley Kaplan-like course to grades four through 12 in private and parochial schools in the northeast. That school year (too many years ago to mention), I taught in three schools. In my first school, a very small, elite private school, I would get all the questions from my students as you do. I would “embellish” my life story on a regular basis. One day, when asked how many brothers and sisters I had, I answered “11.” (Lie. Really, just four.) The kids asked me to name them and give their ages. I did, so quickly I was afraid they’d ask me to repeat them. They didn’t; the kids were fifth graders and had too many other questions to ask me now. I made up cute stories about being in the middle of 12 kids! Can you imagine? Well, I guess I did. I moved on to new material. It would come up randomly and I would laugh and dismiss questions, saying, we have work to do!

    A few weeks later, I was talking to some parents after school and one of the boys in that class brought his mother to me, so excited. She shook my hand and said: “Johnny is so impressed with the size of your family! He is an only child and would love to have just one brother or sister!” She had a wistful look on her face and even though I was only 22 at the time, I understood that she must had tried to give him a sibling, but couldn’t. I smiled and kept the lie alive. I just couldn’t tell her the truth. I left that school shortly thereafter and moved on to the next school. I never lied to my students again.

    It’s a good policy.

    • Yeah – I might embellish certain elements of a story to add to the retelling, but I find I have enough slightly fantastical real stories that I’m able to entertain. I was telling students the other day about how I got lost in the back allies of Moscow with some friends trying to find this folk dance event our tour group had tickets too. None of the kids in the class had been outside North America so it was crazy to them that I’d been to Europe and lived there for a year. I’ve found kids also really like when I tell stories about when I was in high school. Though that sometimes makes me feel really old since I date myself when I talk about how iPods were just coming out when I was in gr.11.

  3. It is very important to understand what quality means when shopping for a monitoring camera. CCTV (closed signal television) cameras range in quality from 330 TVL (tv lines) to be able to 600 TVL. Regarding color quality, CCTV cameras max out at 560 lines, however you will get black and white CCTV monitoring cameras in Six hundred TVL. buy a cctv camera where to buy a security camera IP monitoring cameras are now for sale in much higher quality (up to Your five megapixels in resolution). What does this mean when preparing a system?

Leave a Reply

